Thursday, March 10, 2011

MG review: Kat, Incorrigible

Kat, Incorrigible
The Unladylike Adventures of Kat Stephenson #1
By, Stephanie Burges
April 5, 2011

Twelve-year-old Kat Stephenson may be the despair of her social-climbing Step-Mama, but she was born to be a magical Guardian and protector of Society--if she can ever find true acceptance in the secret Order that expelled her own mother. She’s ready to turn the hidebound Order of the Guardians inside-out, whether the older members like it or not. And in a society where magic is the greatest scandal of all, Kat is determined to use all her powers to help her three older siblings--saintly Elissa, practicing-witch Angeline, and hopelessly foolish Charles--find their own true loves, even if she has to turn highwayman, battle wild magic, and confront real ghosts along the way!(goodreads)

My thoughts...Kat, Incorrigible will be a hit for readers of all ages.

Filled with magic, mystery, and mischief, young Kat will steal the hearts of readers and have them cheering her on by the end of the story. Kat, while only twelve years old is very feisty. She is very believable and true to her age. Her decisions are sometimes impulsive and there is a vulnerability to her character that feels genuine. We also meet Kat's older sisters. Elissa is the oldest. She loves Gothic novels and  has a strong sense of duty when it comes to her family. The middle child, Angeline, is just as headstrong, but she has some interests that could cause her to get into big trouble. All of the characters, good and wicked, were memorable and enjoyable.

One of the most unique aspects about this book was the time period. Old England was a time of proper manners, fancy dresses, arranged marriages, and dowries. The characters live within a set of rules and not following etiquette was simply frowned upon. These social rules would be hard for anyone, especially a twelve year old tomboy. Women especially had a hard time due to what was "expected" of them and their behaviors.  Another great aspect of the plot was the magic. The world felt well developed and thought out. The magic seemed to jump off the page and bring you along for the fun.

While Kat, Incorrigible is a middle grade book, I recommend it to readers of all ages. Fans of Harry Potter or Jane Austin should be especially delighted with the story. I can not wait to read book two, KAT, INCORRIGIBLE: RENEGADE MAGIC coming in April of 2012 to the US.

For more information, visit Stephanie on Goodreads or her official website.

*Disclaimer: This book was provided by the publisher for my honest opinion.

4 comments:

Christie (The Fiction Enthusiast) said...

I’m reading this one now & loving it! Great review!

Juju at Tales of Whimsy.com said...

Sounds delightful. I should so read this some day.

Tribute Books Mama said...

sounds like it's packed with fun,thanks for the great review.

vimaworm said...

The aims of acne treatment are to prevent new spots forming, to improve on acne treatment already present, and to prevent scarrings.

cheap clomid

 
Blog designed by TwispiredBlogdesign using Joifa Design's Innocent Imagination kit.