Friday, March 25, 2011

YA review: Exposed

Exposed
by, Kimberly Marcus
February 22nd 2011
Random House Books for Young Readers

In the dim light of the darkroom, I'm alone, but not for long.

As white turns to gray, Kate is with me.
The background of the dance studio blurred, so the focus is all on her
legs extended in a perfect soaring split.
The straight line to my squiggle,
my forever-best friend.

Sixteen-year-old Liz Grayson is photogirl—sharp, focused and ready to take the world by storm with her camera. But Liz's entire life is called into question when her brother is accused of a crime—and the accuser is Liz's own best friend. As the aftershocks from that accusation rip through Liz's world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship and herself, shifts out of focus. And for the first time in her life, Liz finds herself unable to trust her own point of view. Told in stunning, searingly raw free verse, Exposed is Kimberly Marcus's gut-wrenching, riveting debut and will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson and Virginia Euwer Wolff.(goodreads)

My thoughts...This is one of those stories that will leave you thinking about right and wrong.

Liz finds herself in an agonizing  situation when her best friend accuses her brother of a horrible crime. As she tells the story, she experiences feelings like guilt, shame, fear, anger, and frustration. As the reader, you really experience each of these feeling with her.

The story is told in verse, which makes the book interesting in several ways. First, it is a very quick read. Once you start, it's hard to stop reading. Secondly, the pages are short and to the point. You don't get a lot of filler or side stories. This really drove the emotions home.

I noticed quite a bit of character development, but not in the traditional sense. Liz's passion is photography. It is through her pictures, or at times the lack of content in her pictures, that I really noticed the changes in her character.

Exposed is an emotional story. It deals with tough issues and leaves the reader feeling raw and emotional. Exposed is also a powerful story, one that I would recommend.

For more information, find Kimberly at goodreads or at her website.

*I received this ARC from Random Buzzers.

4 comments:

Juju at Tales of Whimsy.com said...

Great review. I like verse.

YA Book Queen said...

This one sounds like a thoughtful read...Great review, Elie :)

Blueicegal ♥ said...

I love a book that makes me think. Sounds good!

Christie - The Fiction Enthusiast said...

This sounds so very unique. Great review!

 
Blog designed by TwispiredBlogdesign using Joifa Design's Innocent Imagination kit.